Now you can choose which groups you’re added to

WhatsApp is now rolling out one very important privacy feature

WhatsApp is now rolling out one very important privacy feature

There are three options to choose from: "Nobody", "My Contacts," or "Everyone".

WhatsApp, which counts India as one of its largest markets with over 200 million users, had faced flak from the Indian government after a series of mob-lynching incidents, triggered by rumours circulating on the messaging platform, claimed lives past year. If the user added didn't like the group, he/she would eventually had to leave the group every time; however, they can be added again without the users' permission again, that was the scenario until now.

Popular messaging platform WhatsApp is rolling out a new update that will allow users to block others from adding them into groups automatically.

The Indian government had been asking WhatsApp to ensure user consent before being added to WhatsApp groups. "In those cases, the person inviting you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group". If you click on this link within 72 hours, you'll be added to the group. If you pick the latter two, restricted people won't be able to force you into a group; they'll have to send you an invite privately that you can either approve or deny.

Google rolls out customizable swipe actions to Gmail on iOS
In addition to using the customized swipes on emails, users will also be able to use gestures on pushed notifications. You can decide if you want to mark a message as read, movie it to a folder or delete it outright, among other options.

In a related development, WhatsApp is testing 'reverse image search' feature, which will help user fact check whether the photo is fake or original. And, choosing the "Nobody" option will prevent everyone from adding you to a group. Leaving a group is considered "rude" for some reason and often results in real-life conflict.

"With these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive", WhatsApp said. As people turn to groups for important conversations, users have asked for more control over their experience. There will also be the Everyone option that won't add any restriction. You'll have three days to accept the invite before it expires.

WhatsApp, seen as a key tool for communications and commerce in many countries, was acquired by Facebook in 2014 for US$19 billion.

Latest News